Open Letter of Support for Professor Hakeem Jefferson

 Open Letter 

We are aware that Stanford University faculty member and 2021-22 Fellow at the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) at Stanford University, Dr. Hakeem Jefferson, was the recent target of racial harassment and attacks, including paid advertisements against him and his work. (Stanford made a statement denouncing the paid advertising campaign here. The Stanford Daily reported on the situation here.) 
We wish to join Stanford University’s Center for Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity (CCSRE) and Political Science Department’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee (Racial Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion Task Force) condemnation of these racist attacks, in solidarity with Dr. Jefferson. 
As an expert on Black politics and renowned public scholar, Dr. Jefferson endures these attacks that are decidedly not random, but rather motivated by racism. This means that he, and scholars like him, conduct their work within a world that puts them at risk for such attacks. That reality, along with these attacks, are harmful. 
We commend Dr. Jefferson for consistently, courageously, and bravely conducting his work and sharing it with the world. We have deep appreciation for Dr. Jefferson’s scholarship and deep respect for Dr. Jefferson, the scholar. 
As individual scholars diverse in identities, backgrounds, cultures, disciplines, and home institutions/organizations, we would like to affirm the following: 
We, the undersigned 2021-22 CASBS Fellows at Stanford University, publicly declare our full support for Dr. Hakeem Jefferson, while simultaneously committing to re-focus our energies to build anti-racist, equitable institutions where scholars, particularly those who are marginalized, can thrive: freely, fully, happily, and safely. 

Eduardo Araral

Robert Aronowitz

Jenna Bednar

Aisha M. Beliso-De Jesús

Michael Bernstein

Sufen Chen

Scott L. Cummings

Cristian Danescu-Niculescu-Mizil

Paolo de Renzio

Gary W. Evans

Megan Finn

Jennifer M. Gómez, Center for Institutional Courage

Lise Guilhamon

Stefan O. Houpt

Amalia Kessler

Neta Kligler-Vilenchik

Pang Laikwan

John Stephen Lansing

Thomas Levenson, professor of science writing at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Margaret Levi

Julie Livingston

Teresa L. McCarty, Distinguished Professor and GF Kneller Chair in Education and Anthropology, UCLA 

Helen Milner

Kris Mitchener

Jules Naudet

Arcade Ndoricimpa 

Manuel Pastor

Alejandro Pérez Carballo

Laurence Ralph, Professor of Anthropology, Princeton University

Leigh S. Raymond

Jennifer A. Richeson, Philip R. Allen Professor of Psychology, Yale University

Vibeke Sorensen, Complexity Science Hub Vienna

Piyush Tantia

Daniel Treisman

Mpho Tshivhase

Katia Vavova

Edward Walker